Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

DST Staff


Deb Agarwal
DAAgarwal@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7078
50B-2276
Department Head, Senior Scientist
Inria International Chair
BIDS Senior Fellow

Emphases: advanced cyberinfrastructure to support collaboration on and sharing of scientific data, data analysis infrastructure for eco-science, and scientific tools to enable sharing of scientific experiments.
Cecilia Aragon
CRAragon@lbl.gov
Visiting Faculty
Emphases: User interface design, science cyberinfrastructure, information visualizaton, image processing and data mining.
Joshua Boverhof
JRBoverhof@lbl.gov
(503) 560-1525
50B-2258G
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: Development of science gateways, python-based cyberinfrastructure, and science cyberinfrastructure.
You-Wei Cheah
YWCheah@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6752
50B-2258H
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: Science cyberinfrastructure and cloud computing.
Shreyas Cholia
SCholia@lbl.gov
(510)486-6552
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: Science Gateways, Data Engineering Infrastructure, Data Intensive Computing
Abdelrahman Elbashandy
aaelbashandy@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4183
50B-2258H
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphasis: Science cyberinfrastructure development.
Hamdy Elgammal
hhelgammal@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4183
50B-2258H
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphasis: Science cyberinfrastructure development and workflow tools.
Sophie Engle
sjengle@lbl.gov
(415) 422-4174
Visiting Faculty
Monte Goode
MMGoode@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6670
50B-2258H
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphasis: Science cyberinfrastructure development
Devarshi Ghoshal
DGhoshal@lbl.gov
(510)486-4351
50B-2258F
Postdoctoral researcher
Emphases: Provenance, Science cyberinfrastructure, workflow and data management
Dan Gunter
DKGunter@lbl.gov
(510)495-2504
50B-2258C
Research Scientist
Emphases: Science cyberinfrastructure, distributed troubleshooting, high-performance workflows, and network performance.
Val Hendrix
VCHendrix@lbl.gov
(510)495-2905
50B-2258E
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: Cloud computing and data management, high-energy physics data analysis cluster deployment, science cyberinfrastructure, satellite image processing
Gary Kushner
GEKushner@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7168
50B-3238E
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphasis: Astrophysics cyberinfrastructure.
Craig Leres
CALeres@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7576
50B-2231B
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: A High-energy physics and astrophysics cyberinfrastructure.
Charles McParland
CPMcParland@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6956
50B-2270A
Staff Scientist
Emphases: Sensor systems, science cyberinfrastructure, and smart grid technologies and protocols.
Yeongshnn Ong
YOng@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4567
50B-2258J
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: User interface development and front-end programming.
Gilberto Pastorello
GZPastorello@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4613
50B-2258B
Postdoctoral Researcher
Emphasis: Science cyberinfrastructure, Scientific data lifecycle management, Data Web portals
Vern Paxson
VEPaxson@lbl.gov
(510) 666-2882
50B-2258H
Visiting Faculty
Emphases: Cybersecurity, intrusion detection, and network measurement
Sean Peisert
SPPeisert@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4706
50B-2270B
Staff Scientist
Chief Scientist for Cybersecurity, CENIC
Associate Adjunct Professor, UC Davis

Emphases: Intrusion detection, vulnerability analysis, control system / cyber-physical / power grid security, and security of high-performance computing and networking environments.
Fernando Perez
FPerez@lbl.gov
(510) 495-2410
50B-2270A
Staff Scientist
Emphasis: Ipython
Lavanya Ramakrishnan
LRamakrishnan@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4384
50B-2258D
Research Scientist
Emphases: Real-time scheduling and cloud computing for science.
Megha Sandesh
MSandesh@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4384
50B-2258J
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: User interface development and front-end programming.
Robin Sommer
RSommer@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7504
50B-2258H
Researcher
Emphases: Cybersecurity and intrusion detection.
Karen Whitenack
KWhitenack@lbl.gov
(510)486-4183
50B-2231A
Department Administrator
Emphasis: General department support

DST Affiliates


Affiliate Scientist
Emphasis: Cybersecurity solutions
Bogdan Copos
bcopos@lbl.gov
Graduate Student Researcher
Affiliate Scientist
Emphasis: Software and database solutions for large experiment data analysis systems.
Reinhard Gentz
rgentz@lbl.gov
Graduate Student Researcher
Anna Giannakou
AGiannakou@lbl.gov
Graduate Student Researcher
Rachel Hollowgrass
rhollow@berkeley.edu
Affiliate UX Designer
Emphases: User interface design.
Affiliate Senior Scientist
Emphases: Scientific data synthesis and analysis topics.
Christian Kreibich
christian@icir.org
(510)486-7078
Affiliate Scientist
Emphasis: Cybersecurity solutions
Affiliate Scientist
Emphasis: Ontology development and standardization
Affiliate Senior Scientist
Emphasis: Distributed systems research and cloud computing research
Frank Olken
FOlken@lbl.gov
Retired Scientist
Emphases: Data semantics and management topics.
Retired Scientist
Emphases: High-energy and nuclear physics cyberinfrastructure and grid computing infrastructure.
Sarah Poon
SSPoon@lbl.gov
Affiliate UX Designer
Emphases: user interface design, usability, and human-computer interaction for scientific applications
David Robertson
DWRobertson@lbl.gov
(510) 495-2399
50B-2258B
Affiliate Computer Systems Engineer
Emphasis: Science cyberinfrastructure.
Anna Scaglione
ascaglione@lbl.gov
Faculty Affiliate
Affiliate Senior Scientist
Emphasis: Carbon Capture System Industry Relations
Mary Thompson
MRThompson@lbl.gov
Retired Scientist
Emphases: Authentication and authorization in a distributed environment.
Affiliate Scientist
Emphasis: Cybersecurity research