Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
Deb Agarwal
DAAgarwal@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7078
Department Head
Craig Leres
CALeres@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7576
Computer Systems Support Lead
Sophia Pasadis
SPasadis@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4183
Administrative Assistant

DST Groups

  • Scientific Data Management (SDM), led by John Wu. The Scientific Data Management (SDM) group develops technologies and tools for efficient data access and storage management of massive scientific data sets. We are currently developing storage resource management tools, data querying technologies, in situ feature extraction algorithms, along with software platforms for exascale data. The group also works closely with application scientists to address their data processing challenges. These tools and application development activities are backed by active research efforts on novel algorithms for emerging hardware platforms.
  • Data Analytics and Visualization (DAV), led by Wes Bethel. The Data Analytics and Visualization (DAV) group is focused on enabling scientific researchers to achieve knowledge discovery goals through visualization and analysis. We develop new capabilities in high performance and data-intensive visualization, analysis, and related (data-intensive) technologies. All our scientific collaborators have a theme in common: the need to understand complex systems through visual inspection of results from simulation and experiment/observation.
  • Usable Software Systems (USS), led by Lavanya Ramakrishnan. The Usable Software Systems (USS) group is focused on usability aspects of computational and data analysis systems. We are involved in three primary research and development mission areas a) user-centered design processes that work in scientific environments b) usable scientific workflow tools and data abstractions and c) intuitive interfaces to explore, analyze, process data and run computations on HPC and distributed systems.
  • Integrated Data Frameworks (IDF), led by Dan Gunter. The Integrated Data Frameworks (IDF) group performs research, development, and deployment of both research prototypes and 24/7 production services for analysis and dissemination of scientific data. We work with diverse scientific communities to provide data processing and analytics algorithms and pipelines for moderate-scale observation and simulation environments, optimization of data movement and management over next generation networking and data management solutions, and optimization and modeling of scientific workflows in integrated high-throughput simulation environments.
  • Additional Affiliates

Usable Software Systems


Lavanya Ramakrishnan
LRamakrishnan@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4384
Group Lead
Research Scientist
You-Wei Cheah
YWCheah@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6752
50B-2258H
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: Science cyberinfrastructure and cloud computing.
Devarshi Ghoshal
DGhoshal@lbl.gov
(510)486-4351
50B-2258F
Postdoctoral researcher
Emphases: Provenance, Science cyberinfrastructure, workflow and data management
Valerie Hendrix
vchendrix@lbl.gov
(510)486-4183
50B-2258J
Computer Systems Engineer
Yeongshnn Ong
YOng@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4567
50B-2258J
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: User interface development and front-end programming.
Fernando Perez
FPerez@lbl.gov
(510) 495-2410
Staff Scientist
Megha Sandesh
MSandesh@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4384
50B-2258J
Computer Systems Engineer
Emphases: User interface development and front-end programming.

Integrated Data Frameworks


Dan Gunter
DKGunter@lbl.gov
(510)495-2504
Group Lead
Research Scientist
Joshua Boverhof
JRBoverhof@lbl.gov
(503) 560-1525
Computer Systems Engineer
Shreyas Cholia
SCholia@lbl.gov
(510)486-6552
Computer Systems Engineer
Bogdan Copos
bcopos@lbl.gov
Graduate Student Researcher
Sophie Engle
sjengle@lbl.gov
(415) 422-4174
Visiting Faculty
Reinhard Gentz
rgentz@lbl.gov
Graduate Student Researcher
Anna Giannakou
AGiannakou@lbl.gov
Graduate Student Researcher
Monte Goode
MMGoode@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6670
Computer Systems Engineer
Gary Kushner
GEKushner@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7168
Computer Systems Engineer
Charles McParland
CPMcParland@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6956
Retired/Rehire Staff Scientist
Gilberto Pastorello
GZPastorello@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4613
Postdoctoral Researcher
Vern Paxson
VEPaxson@lbl.gov
(510) 666-2882
Visiting Faculty
Sean Peisert
SPPeisert@lbl.gov
(510) 486-4706
Staff Scientist
Cristina Poindexter
CMPoindexter@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7198
50B-2258B
Postdoctoral Researcher
Emphasis: Ecosystem understanding and development of data processing for carbon flux data.
Affiliate
Anna Scaglione
ascaglione@lbl.gov
Faculty Affiliate
Robin Sommer
RSommer@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7504
Affiliate Researcher
Eugen Feller
EFeller@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6175
50B-2258C
Afffiliate
Faculty Affiliate
Christian Kreibich
christian@icir.org
(510)486-7078
Affiliate Scientist
Emphasis: Cybersecurity solutions
Affiliate
Affiliate
Retired Scientist

Additional Affiliates


Mark Allman
mallman@icir.org
Affiliate
Cecilia Aragon
CRAragon@lbl.gov
Visiting Faculty
INRIA Affiliate
David Robertson
DWRobertson@lbl.gov
Affiliate
Affiliate
Affiliate

Science Software Systems (Now moved to the Computational Science Department)

The Science Software Systems Group’s researchers are embedded in large experimental collaborations to provide cyberinfrastructure for scientific data analysis and exploration.
  • Architecting and development of frameworks and workflows for large-scale experiments utilizing advanced and emerging technologies
  • Providing integrated data analysis environments for large scale scientific experiments
  • Design, development, deployment, and production operation of robust, secure scientific cyberinfrastructure
Craig Tull
CETull@lbl.gov
(510) 486-7253
Group Lead
Staff Scientist
Keith Beattie
KSBeattie@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6297
Computer Systems Engineer
Paolo Calafiura
PCalafiura@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6717
Research Scientist
Biju Jacob
BijuJacob@lbl.gov
(510) 495-2399
Computer Systems Engineer
Wim Lavrijsen
WLavrijsen@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6411
Computer Systems Engineer
Charles Leggett
CGLeggett@lbl.gov
(510) 495-2930
Computer Systems Engineer
Simon Patton
SJPatton@lbl.gov
(510) 486-6883
Staff Scientist