LBNL’s work on cybersecurity R&D is cross-directorate and includes scientists not only from the Computational Research Division, but also ESnet and NERSC in Computing Sciences, as well as LBNL’s IT Division, Energy Technology Area, and a number of external academic and industry partners. 

Recent contributors to this cross-disciplinary team in the past few years include, but are not limited to:

Dr. Sean Peisert Dr. Daniel Arnold (LBNL ETA) Dr. Sophie Engle (USF)
Dr. Deb Agarwal Josh Boverhof Dr. Dipak Ghosal (UC Davis)
Dr. Reinhard Gentz Ciaran Roberts (LBNL ETA) Dr. Hein Meling (U. Stavanger)
Dr. Anna Giannakou Dr. Chen-Nee Chuah (UC Davis) Dr. Anna Scaglione (ASU)

Current students include:

Armando Domingos (UC Berkeley)
Ross Gegan (UC Davis)
Chang Liu (UC Davis)
Shammya Saha (ASU)
Nathan Tsang (UC Berkeley)
Amir Teshome Wonjiga (INRIA Rennes)


Recent Past Collaborators

Dr. David Bailey (CRD Senior Scientist 1998-2011) → retired / UC Davis Research Fellow
Bogdan Copos (Ph.D. 2017) → SRI International
Orianna DeMasi (CRD Scientist 2010-2013) → UC Berkeley Ph.D. program
Jonathan Ganz (Ph.D. 2017) → Cloudflare
Reinhard Gentz (Ph.D. 2017) → LBNL Computer Systems Engineer
[Mahdi Jamei]Jamei
Chuck McParland (CRD Staff Scientist 1978-2014) → retired / RTISYS, Inc.
Dr. Taghrid Samak (CRD Research Scientist 2010-2014) → Google
Dr. Emma Stewart (ETA Scientist 2013-2017) → LLNL
Dr. Melissa Stockman (ESnet 2016–2018) → Grabango
Brian Tierney (ESnet Scientist 1988-2017) → retired
Dr. Sean Whalen (Ph.D Student / I3P Fellow / CRD Postdoc 2009-2013) → Columbia → Mt. Sinai School of Medicine → UC San Francisco